Sangamon County Learning Academy

The Regional Office of Education met its goal of opening an alternative school that would meet the needs of the non-traditional and truant students from school districts in Sangamon County. The Sangamon County Learning Academy (SCLA) has small class sizes which focus on cooperative and interactive learning strategies. SCLA serves truants, chronic truants, and dropouts. Referrals come from home school counselors or principals. The program is designed so that students have the flexibility of either returning to their home school at the end of a semester, enrolling in both Capital Area Vocational School and the alternative school and/or completing the alternative program and graduating from their home school.

For further information contact the SCLA Principal, Julie Sullivan.

Sangamon County Regional Safe Schools Program

In 1994 the Illinois General Assembly passed the Safe School Act, which allows Regional Offices of Education [ROE] to provide programs outside the normal classroom for expelled, chronically disruptive students or students with multiple suspensions.

Sangamon County determined that it was imperative to include educators from all of their unit districts in the planning. The entire planning team felt it important that the program be flexible in order to meet the needs of individual students and districts. Two program locations were selected for the initial phase of Safe Schools, Lawrence and Douglas schools, both in Springfield. A program for 7th and 8th grade students was added in 1999. It is located at the Capital Area Career Center.

The academic component of the curriculum is a self-paced computer based program. The teacher student ratio is kept low in order to enhance the success of the students. All teachers are trained in Aggression Replacement Training to enable them to best meet the behavioral needs of these students.

For further information contact the Program Director, Dr. Mary Loken.