Child Labor Law regulates the employment of workers under 16 years of age.  The law protects children by:

  1. Requiring employment certificates. The certificate confirms that a minor is old enough work (must be 14 years old except for models/actors), physically capable to do the job, and that the job will not interfere with the minor’s education;
  2. Prohibiting work in hazardous occupations; and
  3. Limiting work hours. All work before 7 A.M. and after P.M. is prohibited.  However, work until 9 P.M. is allowed from June 1st through Labor Day.

Obtaining a Work Permit

In order to apply, you must have:

  • A letter of intent from the employer;
  • Statement from school principal to issuing officer dated within 2 weeks of application (Required by Section 12 of the Child Labor Law, 820 ILCS 205/1-22);
  • Report card from the most recent quarter (during the school year);
  • Certificate of physical fitness or physical dated within 6 months (Required by Section 12 of the Child Labor Law, 820 ILCS 205/1-22);
  • Copy of Birth Certificate; and
  • Copy of Social Security card

Work Permit Checklist

State of Illinois, Department of Labor Principal’s Statement to Issuing Officer

State of Illinois, Department of Labor Certificate of Physical Fitness

Child Labor Law

Hazardous Occupations